Gem of the week – Polka Dot Creations

Polka Dot Creations offers bespoke handmade wedding stationery based near Bracknell, Berkshire.  Nicky, owner of Polka Dot Creations has been creating her designs since her own wedding.  From Save the Dates to Thank You Cards Polka Dot Creations creates handmade bespoke wedding stationery at affordable prices.  We caught up with Nicky to find out more about what inspires her…

You made your own stationery for your own wedding. What made you decide to turn it into a business?

I have always enjoyed being creative.  After our wedding I created some stationery for my brother’s wedding.  I was then asked to design some for a friend of my sister in law’s as she liked their stationery so much.  I just felt that it was something I wanted to do on a more permanent basis rather than just as a hobby.  I enjoy the fact that I am making such a special day for somebody come alive and the comments that I get back once the couple receive their stationery make it all worthwhile – that’s why I love my job!

2013-04-22_005

What inspires you when you make your new card designs?

I sometimes see a particular wallpaper design or see a shop window display and my mind just jumps into stationery mode automatically thinking of how I could incorporate something like that into an invitation for example. I come up with the best designs when I am given a brief from a client of what it is that they are looking for – as soon as they give me their ideas my mind starts racing with different options I could create – it is sometimes hard to narrow it down to just two or three designs for them to choose from.

What is your design process when you make bespoke cards?

I have a list of questions that I ask the client in order to gain an insight into what type of style/theme they are looking for – questions such as whether they prefer contemporary or a more traditional style, the type of card they are looking for – i.e. pocketfold, wallet, standard opening card etc. – whether they need to add extra information such as gift list information, a menu selector for their guests etc. as these factors will all affect the design.

2013-04-22_002

2013-04-22_001

What is your current favourite wedding trend?

Cupcakes on a tiered stand in place of the traditional tiered cake! I think they can look stunning. Or in terms of stationery I think more and more brides are looking for personalised items with their names or initials and wedding date – something I have done quite a lot of this year.

Do you advise couples on the correct wording inside the stationery? or do they write what they want?

I generally advise the couple that I can help with wording if they are stuck for ideas – I have some examples that I can send them and then they can base it on that and just customise accordingly. Or some couples know exactly what they want to say and send it to me ready. I always put the text into the correct font and layout and send to the couple to approve before I print of course.

Traditional invites are sometimes replaced by more DIY/ or email invites for convenience. Do you think that the paper invite will still be used in 10 years time?

I think so yes – even though the internet and email are becoming more and more popular I don’t think you can beat the traditional invite arriving through the post and the guest seeing that first glimpse of the theme that you have chosen for your special day – that just can’t come across on an email.

2013-04-22_004

2013-04-22_003

Invites are a statement about the couple and their wedding day, do you have any hints or tips to give to our readers about how they should decide on their invites?

Make sure the stationery reflects you as a couple – try to both have a say in what design features you would like incorporated – after all it is about both of you and the stationery will be seen throughout the day so you both have to be comfortable with it.

One final thing that I would like to add – even if you don’t have a huge budget but would like a handembellished card with that luxurious feeling I can customise most of my ranges accordingly to suit all budgets by using alternative features or card designs. I believe my prices are very competitive anyway but they can be even more competitive by tweaking a few things here and there!

Contact Polka Dot Creations:

Location: Near Bracknell, Berkshire
Telephone: 07803 047097
Email: nicola@polkadotcreations.co.uk
Website: www.polkadotcreations.co.uk
Facebook www.facebook.com/PolkaDotCreationsWedding
Twitter twitter.com/NickyPolka

Leave a Reply

