Gem of the Week ~ Medieval Wedding Speeches

It’s Father’s Day (sending lots of love to all the Daddie’s out there!), so what better genre to focus on than the speech from The Father of the Bride?

Today it is my absolute pleasure to introduce you to the very talented Anna Whitehouse, owner of The Medieval Wedding Poet.  From the perfect Castle Banquet Wedding Speeches to timeless gifts, Anna’s poems are sure to delight all those who read and hear them.  So who is The Medieval Wedding Poet?…

Anna:  “I’m a mum of one living in Birmingham and I have always enjoyed writing poetry.  I studied Drama and English at university and went on to work with a dyslexic children and adults as well as doing some freelance writing for parenting magazines. I love being in the countryside, eating out, listening to music and being with friends and family.”

The Medieval Wedding Poet final-01 Where did the idea for The Medieval Wedding Poet come from?
A friend who is an artist, suggested that we join forces to produce an illustrated poem as a wedding gift for a friend who was getting married at Kenilworth Castle. I took on the challenge and came up with ‘The Right Knight’, a comic poem which transformed my friend into a medieval Lady and the groom into a dashing Scottish Lord.  I had recently been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue and I couldn’t work at the time, so when I had lots of lovely feedback about the poem, I decided to set up a website offering to write poems for others!

When did you launch?
I’ve been writing the poems for a couple of years but I launched as a business this March!

What services do you provide?
I write bespoke light-hearted medieval poems for weddings, using information shared with me by the bride/groom or the person requesting the poem as a gift. People tend to use the poems as a reading at the reception or as an alternative to a speech, but they also make a unique gift!

My poems are ideal for castle and medieval weddings, although I also get requests for American Faire weddings! I also write anniversary poems. I recently wrote three for each of a Canadian lady’s children! I print the poems on parchment style bordered paper and send them worldwide in a gold scroll tube, but some people prefer just an e-mailed copy to print themselves.

What inspires you?
The wonderfully romantic stories which I am privileged to hear!  And my love of finding the perfect rhyme!

LargeQuillPic

What is your favourite part about weddings?
It’s got to be the vows!!  And throwing confetti!

Secret Fact:
When I was a teenager, I wrote to Judy Dench to ask her advice on becoming an actress!  She wrote me a lovely reply! I still have the letter!

Top Tip:
Any information shared with me is always disposed of safely when I’ve completed a poem and I change the names when featuring past poems on my website. However,  if you ask me not to feature your poem on my site, I will respect that.

Contact Anna:
Location: Birmingham
Telephone: 01214483443
Email: annaw@talktalk.net
Website: www.medievalpoet.co.uk
Facebook www.facebook.com/themedievalweddingpoet

Leave a Reply

