Christmas Wedding Steam Train Magic

It’s Christmas Eve so what better time for some Christmas Wedding magic?

In the middle of November Emma Newman, Owner of Signature Flowers by Emma Newman, let me into a little secret… this exceptionally talented Wedding Florist, based in Quainton, Buckinghamshire, had decided to organise a last minute photo shoot with some other Ice The Cake Members at one of my favourite quirky Wedding Venues – Buckinghamshire Railway Centre.  The inspiration behind it was to focus on Christmas Wedding styling and what could be more perfect than a vintage steam railway station?

I love the journey back in time every time I visit this wedding venue and so of course I couldn’t wait to see the results.  I popped down on the afternoon and was lucky enough to see the shoot in full festive flow.  With the team of suppliers in the safe hands of Nigel Crump, a brilliantly theatrical Wedding Photographer, the images were sure to inspire and I couldn’t wait for the final images to land in my inbox.  I didn’t have to wait long as Nigel was as efficient as ever and today it is my absolute pleasure to share with you the results from the day…

Emma said “Once an idea is born, inspiration has to be found! So after confirming with all the suppliers that they could be involved i created a board of ideas for us all as a starting point, from the ice queen of Narnia, to a real warm Christmas wedding.  I found some fabulous station shots to inspire us and was easily convinced when Nigel set about getting hold of a smoke machine.  I sourced lots of Christmassy items, from cones to cranberries, gorgeous chunky candles to dark red roses and pansy flowers and then the vague design ideas i had in my head came together.

I wanted to create a really beautiful shower bouquet with a Christmas feel so threaded cranberries, included blue pine and used the most gorgeous red roses. I also did a pine cone bouquet interspersed with spray roses, orange peel and other gorgeous Christmas scents.

For the Snow Queen I created a floral pattern onto an up-cycled bolero and did a co-ordinating but fairly simple handtied bouquet. I made table centres to compliment the bouquets and the beautiful surroundings we were so fortunate to work in.”

Make Up Artist Carla Tangi, Owner of Feel Beautiful, Aylesbury said: “This was a really exciting shoot from me due to my love of Christmas and everything sparkly! I wanted to do two different ends of the spectrum, One Snow Queen and one warm Christmas look. For the Snow Queen I used silvers and ice blues and Diamantes for extra sparkle on the eyes! And a metallic grey liquid liner. For the lips a soft frosted beige lipstick. On the cheeks I used a frosted pale pink blusher. I also finished off with some false eyelashes with some sparkles on.

The warm look was inspired by the traditional Christmas colours Golds and Reds. Beautiful berry red lips, and golden eyes and cheeks.

All the makeup products I use are Artdeco.”

Hairstylist Harriet Bartley added:  “Carla, Emma and I were talking about Christmas & how it would be great to get some Christmassy pictures focusing on just hair, makeup and flowers. So an idea was born and then Emma set to work enlisting the help of Buckinghamshire Railway Centre for a venue and the amazing Waddesdon Deli Co. for sumptuous food (always good to do a shoot with food.)

Both models have lovely long hair, Gemma blonde and Sarah-Jane dark, perfect for a hair & makeup shoot! When I arrived with Sarah-Jane, Carla had already started on Gemma’s makeup.  I began by tonging Sarah-Jane’s hair in sections, starting at the nape and running in rows, left to right and reversed to give a lovely wavy shape once the ‘bounce’ had dropped. Sarah-Jane has long layers so the curls last longer.  Beautiful flower ‘circlets’ were made by Emma and fitted perfectly with the winter theme.

Gemma’s hair is longer and one length, as it was damp I blow dried some strong mouse in before I tonged. Instead of using round tongs like Sarah-Jane’s I used GHD’s to curl and give a softer look. Just some simple brushing and both girls were ready for the first picture.

As the day progressed the hair dropped slightly and I changed the styles, Gemma’s hair looked good just to one side and the curls were still there after brushing. Gemma’s was perfect for a big high bun, I added a lighter blonde hair weft to add depth and interest to the bun. Leaving loose curls at the front softened the look. SJ’s hair looked lovely gently brushed and swept back with the rose & ivy circlet.”

So how did the finished shoot look?… Here are my favourite images from the day!  Thank you Emma for bringing this sensational team of wedding suppliers together.

Merry Christmas everyone. xx
Photography:  Nigel Crump Photography
Flowers:  Signature Flowers by Emma Newman
Make Up:  Feel Beautiful, Aylesbury
Hair:  Harriet Bartley Freelance Stylist
Hair Accessories:  Princess Conchetta
Catering:  Waddedson Deli
Venue:  Buckinghamshire Railway Centre
Leave a Reply

