Gem of the Week ~ The Pretty Cake Company

Introducing The Pretty Cake Company! This delightful company is owned by Samantha Tempest and in between baking her wonderful creations, we managed to steal her away for a few questions…  

When did you launch?

I launched as The Pretty Cake Company in 2008 but had been building up a portfolio 5 years prior to that.

Where are you based?

Minster Lovell- between Witney and Burford in Oxfordshire.

Where did the inspiration come from?

I always enjoyed baking from being a child but I did my eldest daughters 3rd birthday cake in the form of a fairytale castle and it all started from there!

What did you do before running your business?

I monitored patients in clinical trials and have a degree in Pharmacology.

What services do you offer?

Bespoke wedding cake design service, delivery and set up. In quieter ‘non wedding’ times of the year I do celebration cakes for various occasions and a little bit of teaching which I may look to expand on.

What has been your biggest achievement?

Becoming a Regional Finalist in the Wedding Industry Awards.

What do you love about weddings?

Each one is so different, everyone is so happy and excited, I get to meet some wonderful couples and also I like the comradery between lots of other fabulous wedding suppliers that I have the privilege to work alongside.

Who inspires you?

Peggy Porschen, Zoe Clark and Mich Turner are all big names in the wedding cake industry and their work is inspirational. But each of my brides inspire me as I know that ultimately their cake has to be a reflection of them.

What is your pearl of wisdom for a Bride to Be planning her wedding day?

As soon as you have set your wedding date, highlight your suppliers and reserve your date with them, with a view to finalising your details nearer the time. So often I have to disappoint brides because I am already fully booked.

Tell us a secret?

I was vocally trained in my late teens and used to sing opera. Sadly I now fear I have lost my touch!

What is your favourite cake?

Anything with large rose blooms and lace pipework.

What trends did you see in 2013 and what do you think is in store for 2014?

Vintage was still trending massively in 2013 and it shows no sign of going away for 2014 either. There has been a marked increase in the number of enquiries for natural or ‘naked’ wedding cakes, where uniced tiers are stacked and finished with a selection of food contact safe flowers and/or fresh fruits. 2014 brides appear very much focussed on a traditional, beautiful and elegant wedding cake and seem to be straying away from more novelty wedding cakes or cupcakes, which personally suits me down to the ground!  

Telephone: 01993 703511
Email: info@theprettycakecompany.com
Website: www.theprettycakecompany.com

 

 

Leave a comment