Gem of the Week ~ Kate Lewis Design

Long standing member of the Ice the Cake network, Kate Lewis Design is our Gem of the Week this week. We stole a moment with Kate herself to hear all about this fabulous company and her exciting confession!

When did you launch?

I launched Kate Lewis Design in 2009, this year will be 5 years!!!

Where are you based?

I’m based in Cheshire but can supply Nationwide & have even supplied Worldwide on a few occasions!

Where did the inspiration come from?

My inspiration came from designing & making my own wedding stationery, though I had made wedding stationery for family and friends for many years before. I just loved it so much I wanted to carry on doing it.

What did you do before running your businesses?

I was a Senior Designer designing children’s dress-up & accessories for high street chains! Quite different from the wedding industry!

What services do you offer?

I offer personalised and bespoke wedding stationery – from save the dates, wedding invitations to on the day stationery such as table plans, table numbers and name places. And anything in between of course!

I also design personalised greeting cards from everyday birthday cards, to Christening cards, On your Wedding Day cards, New Home Cards, etc. The personalised new baby cards are great – I add the baby’s name, birthday and weight – I often get emails from customers to say how much the new parents loved the personal info and they have framed the card in the baby’s room!

I also offer illustration and graphic design services usually on a more commercial scale.

What has been your biggest achievement?

Aside from keeping my business going with no business training, my biggest achievement is building & launching my greeting card website (www.klhandmadecards.co.uk) all on my little own! I have no knowledge or training of web design and although it was a huge challenge (one that seemed impossible at times) it was a great learning curve and I was so proud of having achieved it!

What do you love about weddings?

I love the happiness and positivity that surrounds a wedding! The excitement of a new bride-to-be is so infectious it is such a joy to be part of.

Who inspires you?

My parents are so hardworking, they inspire me everyday!

What is your pearl of wisdom for a Bride to Be planning her wedding day?

Enjoy it! There can be so much to do when planning your wedding that it can be overwhelming. My tip is to get organised or to enlist the help of a super organised friend. If you can tackle each part step by step you’ll feel much more in control and able to have fun with it, than if you’re in a constant state of stress!

Tell us a secret?

I’m pregnant!!! Baby is due in August 2014 and although I have started to tell people (so technically probably not the best kept secret) I think it’s a pretty cool secret.

What is you favourite piece or range of stationery?

My favourite design is my “Bride & Groom” because it always makes me smile! It’s such a versatile design too I think that has been the secret to its success. I always change the characters slightly so it looks like that particular bride & groom, my customers love it! I’ve even dressed my groom in a kilt a few times for some Scottish customers!

What trends have you seen for 2013 and what do you think is in store for 2014?

In 2013 I saw the ‘vintage’ ‘shabby chic’ look continuing to be very strong, which did surprise me as it has been around for so long. I think in 2014 the use of bright & bold colours will be a strong trend, and I also think opulence will also be a big theme this year.

Any other comments .

Although I will be taking things a little slower later on this year when “Little Lewis” arrives I will be planning ahead to make sure all my couples get their stationery on time!

Telephone: 07805 713328
Email: kate@katelewisdesign.co.uk
Website: www.katelewisdesign.co.uk

One thought on “Gem of the Week ~ Kate Lewis Design

Leave a Reply

