Gem of the Week ~ Lilibet Bakes

This week, we’re delighted to introduce Lilibet Bakes!We caught up with owner Libby to hear all about this fantastic company…


When did you launch?
I launched Lilibet Bakes in 2011 after a love of baking led me to explore the world of sugarcraft. I’d been making cakes for family and friends as a hobby before this.

Where are you based?
In the quiet town of Buckingham.

Where did the inspiration come from?
I got the baking bug a few years ago and decided to enrol on a sugar flower course so I could learn how to decorate my cakes. We learnt how to make sugar roses and freesias and I was hooked!

What did you do before running your business?
I worked in a pub/ restaurant which meant I was able to make lots of orders for the customers!

What services do you offer?
I offer a complimentary design and tasting consultation for wedding cakes when couples are able to try 3 cake flavours of their choice and bring along anything they’d like to use as inspiration for the cake. I also make celebration cakes, cupcakes and cookies.

What has been your biggest achievement?
I think setting up my own business has been a big achievement; it is something I never would have dreamed of before I found cake.

What do you love about weddings?
Today couples can tailor their wedding to reflect their own unique style and there are many personal touches which can make the day really special. I always cry at weddings!

Who inspires you?
In the cake world I love the modern style of Anna Elizabeth Cakes and Erica O’Brien and the theatrical opulence of Cake Opera and the Caketress.

What is your pearl of wisdom for a Bride to Be planning her wedding day?
Don’t leave everything to the last minute and be realistic with your budget. There is so much to consider when planning a wedding and it can become stressful which is such a shame. Be organised and plan ahead!

Tell us a secret?
I starred in the Easter Ice Spectacular of Grease on Ice at Milton Keynes ice rink when I was 11.

What is your favourite cake to have worked on?
I loved working on my bling cake. A lot of planning went into it and it was very time consuming! It was inspired by lots of beautiful bridal hair accessories which I had sketched into the shape I wanted then transformed into sugar.

What trends did you see in 2013 and what do you think is in store for 2014?
I think the vintage trend is slowing down a little and I’m seeing a lot less cupcakes. Cake has become more of an art form therefore we may start to see more cake painting and statement cakes. I have met a lot of couples who prefer a more simple style though.

Your wedding cake can compliment your own style, the theme of your day, venue or flowers. It is designed especially for you and I think this is what makes the cake really special.

 

Telephone: 07706250172
Email: info@lilibetbakes.co.uk
Website: www.lilibetbakes.co.uk
Facebook www.facebook.com/LilibetBakes
Twitter www.twitter.com/Lilibet_Bakes

9 thoughts on “Gem of the Week ~ Lilibet Bakes

  1. Yay! I’ve had the pleasure of sampling more than one of Lilibet Bakes’ epic creations and I can tell you this: Libby’s cakes taste as amazing as they look! I would definitely recommend Lilibet Bakes to anyone who will listen, and maybe even some who won’t.

Leave a Reply

